Hello world!

Hello,

Welcome to my blog.  Unfortunately I’ve lost a bit of history to this site, since I was a bit too trusting of the specifications for installing plugins to WordPress with the dotcloud-on-wordpress app.  Turns out that it broke with a particular change from PhP 5.3 to 5.4; so with a new machine I lost a few posts.  Regardless, I will attempt from memory to recap on the content of what came before, and, if nothing else, I will be very mindful to learn how to backup mysql databases on this architecture, as per this listing.

Oh, well.  At least I can remember roughly what I wrote (and at least it was only a few posts).  I will attempt to repopulate based on memory in this first post.

Basically, I’ve played with a few compilers and languages over the last few years.  First I looked into C++, then Java, Java3D, cross-over / bridging techs, then libraries for Java (in addition to Java3D – lwjgl & joal), Eclipse, python, pydev…  Then Spring and a few other things.

[wpzon keywords=”java, python” sindex=”KindleStore” sort=”salesrank” listing=”2″]

One of my first objectives was to learn Java3D and build something useful with it, or at least something that worked.  I ultimately found out the utility of the language was limited due to the fact that it required a kit to be installed to run, even for a standalone executable; this has since changed with its incorporation into JavaFX in Java runtime 7.

Then I looked into Flash and a few other techs motivated by enhancing PDF files.

Consequent to this (in 2011 – 2012), I started looking into django.  When I finally got to the point of being able to build working data driven websites, I became interested in deployment.  Google app engine was my first choice, but it turned out, at least at the time, to be clumsy and unwieldy, mainly due to the fact that it relied on a fork of django that did not have a large community backing it (since app engine runs on NoSQL, which is incompatible with standard Django).

Ultimately I found out that dotcloud was better and easier to use for what I had in mind.  I deployed a few sites to it; a simple photo album, the original version of this blog, a personal webpage, a spring site or two, some javafx examples.

But my interests continued to develop and I found myself interested in experimentation with Game Engines.  I ultimately chose Unity, due to the fact that it is relatively indie friendly; it has an asset store and is comparatively easy to get started with.  In terms of deployment, dotcloud was inadequate to host SmartFoxServer 2X instances of Unity3D games, so I ended up gravitating to the RightScale cloud management platform, together with Amazon Web Services (AWS).

I have since made some progress.  I currently have plans to develop my current Unity3D game (which has as base code from a series of tutorials from bergzergarcade) into a freemium multiplayer game on RightScale, although I have, for now, decommissioned the original website on RightScale where I tested the architecture and am testing things locally.

I am also now currently looking into genetic algorithms and neural networks written in C++ (as one does), as well as scientific programming in python.  RStudio is another tool I’d like to get up to speed with, together with the R programming language.

By the by, for those who did not follow earlier, this installation is based on dotcloud, a PaaS that I have found useful for experimentation.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

